More

Deanwood Park

 



 

 

 

 (Our iconic statue)

 

Are you new to this area?

Looking for a friendly place to play golf?

Over 55?

Then get in touch with Deanwood Evergreens via the Clubhouse on 01635

48772.



Image result for nspcc

 

 

 Last week saw the Alan Snook Memorial trophy in aid of the NSPCC.

 

 

Thirteen teams had a shotgun start playing a Texas Scramble format.

 

 

In third place were a Seniors team consisting of Rob Sim, Allen Thomas and Sid Edwards.

 

 

Second place went to Liz Evans, Angela Dean and Dan Bailey.

 

Top of the tree were John Byrne, Mike Byrne and Graham Cole.

 

There was a splendid raffle and all in all around £630 was made.

 

 

 

Chairman of the Newbury NSPCC Emma Cobb presents the trophy and prizes to the winning team.

 

 

Full results:

55

John Byrne, Mike Byrne and Graham Cole.

56.2

Liz Evans, Angela Dean and Dan Bailey.

58

Rob Sim, Allen Thomas and Sid Edwards.

58.4

Bob Giles, Stuart Brunsden and Dave Buckland – Jones

58.5

Pam Heath, Roger Heath and Carol Merryfield.

58.7

Brian Faithfull, Ray Bilton and Richard Cross.

59.4

Linda Vale, Steve Vale. And Roy Kennedy.

60

Richard Stapleton, Graham Bradfield and John Goddard.

61.2

Keith Endersby, Paul Butler and Mark Grantham.

61.2

Anthony Fitxgerald, Charlei Byam – Cook and Paul Farrington.

61.9

Guy Horsey, John Horsey and Oliver Horsey.

62.3

Jane Connor, Nigel Connor and Richard Tripp.

62.6

Tess Chantry, Keith Chantry and Christine Palmer.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ladies longest drive – Tess Chantrey

 

Men's longest drive – Graham Cole

 

NTP – Paul Farrington



 

Match v Theale.

Friday 23rd August.

 

Coffee from 8:00 – First Tee Time 8:45

 

Tee Time

Team

Name

H’Cap

Name

H’Cap

8:45

1

Raymond Bilton

13

Stuart Brunsden

18

 

8:52

2

Bob Giles

15

Roy Kennedy

17

 

9:00

3

Graham Bradfield

14

Anthony Allen

24

9:07

4

Nigel Connor

15

Richard Tripp

25

9:15

5

Len Texel

19

Dave Buckland Jones

24

9:22

6

Allen Thomas

23

Sid Edwards

22

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reserves :-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lunch afterwards - £12

 



  

Next week.


#######  Next week is the match against Theale #######

(There are tee times available at the usual time.)

 



 

 

 Start Time! 

 

 

Set your alarm clocks people as the draw has reverted to 08.00 hours so to make sure you are included please arrive before then.

 

Image result for 8 am

 Who's your Caddie!

 

Who's Caddie is this?

 

 

 
 
 

Answer at the bottom of the page.

 

 



 

Have you heard this one?

A struggling zoo's main attraction, a gorilla, dies during their most popular season. They can't afford to lose the gorilla so they secretly hire one of the employees to be a gorilla in a suit for an extra $500 a week.

He quickly becomes even more popular than the original gorilla, everyone wants to see the human-like gorilla.

After a few months his popularity begins to wane so he decides to raise the stacks. He climbs out of his enclosure and dangles from a tree in the lion exhibit but he loses his grip and falls. Scared he begins to yell for help, "Somebody help!"

With this the lion pounces on top of him and whispers, "Shut up or you'll get us both fired!"



 

 

 

 

 

Who said?

If there is a golf course in heaven, I hope it's like Augusta National. I just don't want an early tee time!

 

Was it:

a) Arnold Palmer

b) Jack Nicklaus or

c) Gary Player?

 

Answer at the bottom of the page.



 

The Deans.

 

The Deans Cup was abbreviated this year as rain washed out the singles contests.

The Committee,in it's immense wisdom, therefore decided to award the Cup on the pairs results only.

This meant that yet again, Alan Lawrence's Reds retained the trophy by a margin of 6 - 2!

There is always next year!

 

 

The two Captains after the presentation!

 

Next week is a roll up.



 

 

Did I?

 

Image result for puzzled golfer

As you walk off the course next time ask yourself the following questions:

Did I enjoy myself?

Have I signed my card?

Did I replace my divots and repair my pitch marks?

You should answer YES to them all!




Seniors Diary.

 

Jul Fri 5-Jul Seniors Medal Aug Fri 2-Aug Seniors Medal
  Fri 12-Jul Bowmaker Strokeplay   Fri 9-Aug Stableford/Eclectic
  Fri 19-Jul Stableford/Eclectic   Fri 16-Aug NSPCC Charity Day
  Fri 26-Jul Yellow Ball   Fri 23-Aug Seniors vs Theale (H) #
          Fri 30-Aug Texas Scramble
               
 
Sep Fri 6-Sep Seniors Medal Oct Fri 4-Oct Seniors Medal
  Fri 13-Sep Senior vs Bradfield (H) #   Fri 11-Oct Seniors - 123 Waltz Stableford
  Fri 20-Sep Stableford/Eclectic   Fri 18-Oct Stableford/Eclectic
  Fri 27-Sep Seniors vs Theale (A) #   Fri 25-Oct Seniors - BB
               
 
      Draw Change to 8:30 Dec Fri 6-Dec Seniors Medal
Nov Fri 1-Nov Seniors Medal   Fri 13-Dec Seniors Christmas Challenge
  Fri 8-Nov Bowmaker Stableford   Fri 20-Dec Stableford/Eclectic
  Fri 15-Nov Stableford/Eclectic   Fri 27-Dec Texas Scramble
  Fri 22-Nov 6/6/6        
  Fri 29-Nov Seniors 123 Stableford        
               
 

 


Answers:

Caddie - Eduado Molinari

Who said it - c) Gary Player





Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.